Warning: Declaration of Suffusion_MM_Walker::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /homepages/39/d299654978/htdocs/wp-content/themes/suffusion/library/suffusion-walkers.php on line 39
Aug 172009


We at RevdCars.com have made clear how we stand on people who “multitask” while driving. Here’s an excellent depiction of an accident caused by a careless idiot who was texting while driving. We can’t say enough that what you do behind the wheel not only affects YOU and your passengers, but other people around you. Law enforcement needs to get tougher with bigger fines and penalties as the hands free law still is being ignored by the masses. And certainly, text messaging cannot be allowed under any circumstances while in the car, moving or not.

The following video is rather graphic, but I guess that’s the exact intention of the producers.

 Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Jul 222009

Daniel Lewis


Recently, the dreaded check engine lit up like a Christmas tree in the middle of winter. Trying my luck, I figured my local auto parts would lend me an OBDII scanner for free so that I could retrieve the error code, just as I did with my old car.

I visited my local Kragen’s, Pep Boys, and Autozone to find out that they no longer provide this service for free. Apparently, it violates some California (and Hawaii) regulatory law. Which wicked people caused this handy service to go away? They wanted to charge me $100.00, just so that the technician could give me the error code. Are you kidding me? $100.00? It takes less than 5 minutes of labor.

What seems to be unnecessary bureaucracy like this increases the ownership of an older car, one that is no longer under the manufacturer’s warranty. Considering that these parts stores rely on DIY / at-home mechanics to fill their coffers with sales, it makes even less sense that the state governments of California and Hawaii would legislate such a silly law into the books.

Is this a ploy by the states to increase new car sales? Perhaps usher in that scrappage program everyone is raving about? Whatever the reason is, there was no legitimate reason for these states to enact such laws. It hurts the consumer and the retailer. Quite a double whammy when the economy could use all the help it can get.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

Jun 062009


How many of you have seen what’s depicted above? A mindless, careless driver completely distracted by “multitasking” while driving a car? Obviously, it’s not just about putting on make up or holding a cell phone while driving. I’ve seen people read books and newspapers, text messaging, reading emails, eat and even put on mascara while using the mirror in the flip down visor!

State governments have been on a frenzy lately, making text messaging and using a mobile phone (while holding the handset) illegal and subject to getting pulled over and fined. Sure, that’s a start but here in California, at least, it’s been a weak effort at best. I’ve been almost run off the road by more than a handful of stupid drivers who can’t bother to look over their shoulders before changing lanes. Several of them had the audacity to flip me off because I used the horn the remind them that they almost ran me off the road. And it’s not limited to any single vehicle type or demographic either. You’re just as likely to see the same stupid and illegal behavior from drivers of old POS clunkers to, get this, drivers of a Lamborghini Gallardo and a Maserati Gran Turismo. I understand if you drive a POS, you might not have the funds to buy a Bluetooth headset, but a Lambo? A Maserati? YOU have absolutely NO EXCUSE for not having a hands free system in your car. Both cars have built-in hands-free systems if I am not mistaken. Or perhaps you aren’t smart enough to figure out how to connect your phone to your car??!!

In California, the fine for the first mobile phone offense is $25. Of course, this fine gets raised to a little under $100 by the time the courts tack on all sorts of fees, but it isn’t enough. They seriously need to raise the fine to, say, $500 for the first offense, $1,000 for the second, and so on. Until the authorities gets serious about cracking down and imposing stiff penalties on these idiots, the same jackass behavior will continue.

Rather than raising car registration fees as they have done in California, punishing all residents, why not truly punish the worthy instead?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine